The Malus-Beauregard House, nestled at Chalmette Battlefield, is a restoration of an early 1800s mansion near New Orleans.
Constructed in the early 1830s, the Malus-Beauregard House is a great piece of history meticulously restored for the public. This house was never associated with plantations but was instead a country home for many wealthy families throughout the nineteenth century. The name of the house comes from its first and last owners: the Widow Malus in 1833 or 1834 and Judge Rene Beauregard in 1880. The house was sold to the New Orleans Terminal Company in 1904 and was bought by the National Park Service in 1949. Even though this house has had much time without occupants, the beautiful, restored mansion offers much for the public to see and learn about nineteenth century Southern culture.